Islamia Primary School

Our Governors


The Governors of Islamia Primary School have been appointed from a wide range of backgrounds and expertise to ensure that every child at Islamia is safe at school and is provided with the best education and learning opportunities in accordance with the Quran and Sunnah.

Being a school governor is challenging and extremely rewarding.

Our key responsibilities are: 

We are the school’s critical friend:

  • Challenging, monitoring and supporting senior management
  • Governors bring ‘constructive challenge’ to decision making and ensure that the school is effectively led and strategic direction, policies and objectives:

We set strategic direction, policies and objectives:

  • Approve the school budget
  • Set and agree appropriate targets and priorities– shaping the vision and direction of the school in accordance with our ethos and values
  • Ensure all pupils and employees have equal opportunities within the school including those with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND).

We monitor and evaluate:

  • Confirm statutory duties have been fulfilled
  • Review the effectiveness of statutory policies
  • Review progress against the school’s budget and objectives

We conduct our responsibilities through four main committees

  • Curriculum and Development Committee (chaired by Nur Enver)
  • Finance, Property and Staffing Committee (chaired by Sr Monna Rizvi)
  • Safeguarding, Families and Community Committee (chaired by Sr Nur Enver)
  • Admissions Committee (chaired by Sr Monna Rizvi)

Both the Full Board and sub-Committees formally meet at least once every three months.

Current Governance
Chair Mrs Sofia Moussaoui (Foundation)

(Health & Safety / Staff Wellbeing)

Contact Email:

[email protected]

 Vice-Chair Mrs Souad Tehami (Foundation) (Arabic & Quran)
Headteacher Mr Shiraz Khan
Foundation Governors Mrs Monna Rizvi (Finance & Personal / Admissions)

Mrs Hasana Islam (Health & Safety / Staff Wellbeing)

Mrs Zahida Shaheen (Child Protection & Safeguarding/Curriculum / Literacy)

Mr Naugul Durrani (Numeracy)

Mrs Nur Enver ( Curriculum / SEND)

Staff Governor Mr Abshir Mohamed (Curriculum)
Parent Governors Mr Adnan Ilahi

Mr Toib Olomowewe

LA Governor Cllr Aslam Choudry (Health & Safety / Staff Wellbeing / Numeracy)